Book of the Week: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

I’m cheating a bit and posting this review a bit early. Technically, I should wait until Monday (since I’ve been trained in all my years in Corporate America that Monday is really the first day of the week, no matter what traditional calendars say), but I really needed to read a cute book to break my I’m-a-Terrible-Writer funk. (Reading books I don’t like does that to me.)

Today, I took my 5-year-old to Target after his guitar lesson. I needed to restock on his lunch box essentials (apparently, I keep putting in food he doesn’t like), and he had a great guitar lesson this morning, and as I had bribed him with offered an additional incentive to behave during his lesson, I agreed to purchase a toy for him, as well:

Today’s Bribe: A Skylanders Giants 3-Pack

Anyway, while at Target, I decided to treat myself to a few books, including a series I had been eyeing for some time, and I decided to sit down with the first book of the series this afternoon and, well, read. After all, I’m working on a Middle Grade concept and am trying to read more of that genre to get into the mindset of a 10-year-old boy (since I’ve never been one, and all).

I saw this book about a year ago and knew that I had to have it. I mean, it’s Star Wars! How can you possibly go wrong with anything that references arguably one of the greatest movie franchises ever? It was available in a softcover form at my son’s most recent book fair, but I didn’t buy it then because I really wanted it in a hardcover. (All the books I’ve bought with the intention of passing them down to my son are in hardcover.)

Here’s the gist of the story:

Dwight is quite possibly the weirdest kid in middle school, and in addition to a few other eccentricities, he walks around with a paper Yoda on his finger. It’s bit bizarre, yes, but Origami Yoda knows everything. He knows who likes whom, he knows about pop quizzes before the teacher knows, and he’s just all around, well, knowing. And The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is a collection of case studies that were compiled in an effort to prove – or disprove – Origami Yoda’s authenticity.

Each entry is told in three parts – four if you include the illustrations. It’s so cleverly done, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had more than a few laugh-out-loud moments. And it was so cute!

It’s a quick read (it’s a Middle Grade novel, so I wasn’t expecting Tolstoy’s War and Peace), and thoroughly enjoyable.

Would I read it again? Most likely, mainly because I’ll be reading it with my son.

Would I recommend it to others? Yes, absolutely.

And for that, I happily give 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

