Summoning the muse

“When I’m writing, I write. And then it’s as if the muse is convinced that I’m serious and says, ‘Okay. Okay. I’ll come.’” – Maya Angelou

I began work on my second manuscript last night. I was chatting with my cousin on the phone as I drove home, and for some odd reason, I recalled a photo I saw in a recent issue of Writer’s Digest.

Writer’s Digest Photo Prompt

Now, the Writer’s Digest contest called for an opening sentence inspired by the picture, but I envisioned an opening scene, instead.

Hey – whatever works, right?

In case you’re wondering, the photo has absolutely nothing to do with my character or the plot, but it serves as a springboard for illustrating my main character’s personality based on her reaction.

I set a word count goal for myself last night: 1,750 words. I ultimately wrote about 2,200, which was a bit more than a chapter.

Is it any good? I don’t know yet. I do know that I’m really glad I wrote out a general synopsis to keep the story top of mind, even though I’ve already deviated from it a bit because changing a few things felt truer to my main character. And it’s so interesting how different it is to write as this character than it was to write as my protagonist in Will the Real Prince Charming Please Stand Up? It’s not impossible; it’s just different because their backstories are really not that similar. And as such, this main character has a slightly different voice.

I will say that it’s fun to be back in the setting with my characters, though. I haven’t known them long; they really only manifested themselves during NaNoWriMo this past November, but writing about them is already so easy, almost comfortable, like a pair of flannel pajama pants.

Yes, The Muse came to visit last night, and I’m still feeling the euphoria from her stay. And now I’m hoping I can keep her comfortably settled until I finish this manuscript!

One comment

  1. Jeremy Johnson

    Really great quote by Maya Angelo. That’s something I’ll try to remember when I’m back in front of the blank screen, searching for the right words, when maybe I should just start writing! The Muse is intriguing. Like an elusive partner that requires commitment and faith. Even willingness to pursue it into the dark thicket…

    Glad you found your Muse! Now as for me, I still have some wrestling with it to do!

Leave a Reply

