A bittersweet anniversary

Five years ago this morning, I received the most devastating news that changed my world forever: I learned my mother had passed.

I don’t know how I recovered from it. I didn’t think I ever would. It took a long time (and therapy) to get back to functional.

So that’s the bitter part. The sweet? Today will now mark the anniversary of when I became an agented author.

I got the email early this morning, about the same time I got that awful call five years ago. My 5-year-old woke up at around 3AM asking me to cuddle him.

“I felt something rubbing my back,” he said when I asked if he had a bad dream, “and so I woke up.”

I like to think that was Mom paying him a visit.

As much as I wanted to, I wasn’t able to get back to sleep. I checked my email, checked Twitter, played my turn on Words with Friends against my husband, and emailed my dad to wish him a happy 70th birthday.

And then I saw that I had unread email. And it was from the agent I had been stalking studying following on Twitter after I’d read some interviews and decided she was The One.

I promised you to get back to you by today and well, I literally JUST finished your manuscript — and my heart is beating like crazy.  I loved it, I really did (I also think I might have an unhealthy crush on Tim!). So yes, I’d like to offer you my representation.

Commence freak out… NOW! Because after reading those last 7 words (and especially as she is leaving on a huge world tour tomorrow), sleep wasn’t exactly going to pay me another visit.

That’s all I’m willing to share right now, as I have a call with her at 11:30. I’ve really only got a handful of questions for her now before I sign the agency agreement, but there’s always that chance (however slim) that we may meet via Skype and decide it’s not the right fit, after all.

(To be continued…)

5 comments

  1. Robin Hall

    So excited that you found an agent in love with your MS. Welcome to Team Weber. And I’m so glad you have a happy to add to this day. Doing a happy dance for both you AND Julia.

Leave a Reply

