Endurance writing to power through NaNoWriMo

Only 9,122 more words to go. That’s what the NaNoWriMo site is telling me.

I am exhausted.

Right now, I feel like I’m at that point of the race where you see that sign that says, “Look! You’ve only got 3 miles to go! That’s like a 5K! You can totally do a 5K!”

Now, I’ve only done two 12Ks, and at that part of the race, when I’ve already pushed through 7K, though my mind is strong, my body just wants to lie down and rest. Or maybe just walk. Yes, if I walk for a while, I’ll still move towards the finish line, but at least I can catch my breath a bit.

Only, with endurance writing (I love that term), there’s really no “walking”. You either write or you don’t. You may not crank out 3,000 words a day, or even 2,200, but you have to keep writing. And the best stuff doesn’t come out, and you start second-guessing yourself, and you just want so badly to get to the ending already though you know you have to pace it, but you just have to keep writing.

It gets hot when I run. I get frustrated when I write. My muscles ache when I run. My mind starts to wander when I write. My breathing gets labored and I have to slow down when I run. I fall asleep on my laptop and have to take a break when I write.

I don’t have any Gu to give me a boost of inspiration equivalent to the boost of energy it gives you on the track. But I can hear the metaphorical crowds just waiting for me around the bend, still cheering on the endurance writers who have finished before me, still waiting for me at that finish line. I can see my NaNo Buddies, most of whom are behind me in their word counts, and I’m yelling to them to keep going and not give up. And I can see other NaNo Buddies in front of me, doing the same for me.

I’ve got 9,122 more words to write. That means I’ve already written 40,878 words this month. That’s 40,878 words I’ve strung together to form a mostly-cohesive story. Is it a great story? I have no idea; I’ll read it when I’m done. Is it a good story? I’m not sure, but I have an 11-year-old beta reader who seems to thinks so. Does it still need a good dose of polish before I’m ready to submit query letters to agents in hopes they’ll help me find a publisher? Oh, dear God, yes.

But I’ve written almost 41,000 words in just 20 days. And I’ve only got 9,122 more words to go.

Yeah. I can totally do this.

2 comments

    • E.M.

      Thanks, Jill! This is my first real experience with NaNoWriMo, and I’m really enjoying it. It’s hard, and I’m exhausted, and I’m starting to feel a bit schizophrenic living my life as a 30-something mom and professional and writing as a 15-year-old high schooler. But I’m truly enjoying this process. With any luck, I’ll be done by Friday and have the entire weekend to edit to my heart’s content. =D

Leave a Reply

