Freaking out

I really need to pretend this is just another race, only one that lasts 30 days instead of an hour or so.

I’m really not sure how much training I could have done for NaNoWriMo. I’ve written a loose outline. I’ve thoroughly thought through (write that 10 times fast) the first four chapters of my novel and jotted down notes as I work my way to the first plot point. I’ve gotten to know my characters – both main and supporting – reasonably well, to the point that I adore some of them and wish I could smother others with a down pillow. I’ve left room for the story to grow organically but have created a reasonable path for my story to follow.

So, I think I’m ready. But as this is my first real go of NaNoWriMo, I’m (naturally) more than terrified. I have no idea what to expect. I don’t know how I’ll manage the things that will be thrown my way in the next few weeks. But I know I really want to do this, so I need to be confident that the rest of it will all kind of fall into place.

But that confidence doesn’t negate the fact that I’m still completely freaking out.

Leave a Reply

